Miney mo

“Jason called again.”  Erin mentioned casually as I packed my weekend bag.
“Oh?”  I asked nonchalantly.  “Did you talk to him or did he leave a message?”
“He left a message.”  she said, peering over her magazine for my reaction.  “He sounded a little upset though.”
“Well, I don’t know why he just doesn’t call my cell phone.  I do have voicemail.”
“Maybe he’s getting tired of the ‘fuck you’ button?”
“I thought you said he left a message.”
Erin slapped her magazine shut, “And I thought you were crazy in love with him?”
“Well maybe you thought wrong.”  I said.

“Lauren,” she said, hugging me, causing me to abandon my bag.  “what the hell are you doing?” she laughed.
“I don’t fucking know!” I screamed, falling onto the floor Indian-style.
She grabbed the Oreos from her desk and handed me one, “Well,” she chewed, “you better fucking figure it out.  Because I can’t keep listening to that poor guy leaving sad messages anymore.”
“I know, I know.  It’s just that I don’t know what’s going on with Devin and me and…”
“Um,” she laughed, standing up and pointing to my bag, “you’re going to meet his parents this weekend!  That’s something people who are dating do.”
“I know, I know!  Look this is really hard for me.  I’ve never been in a situation like this before.”
“Well, not to be a bitch or anything but this is worse than the shit he fucking pulled.  The kid came down to apologize and basically tell you he’s like super in love with you…I know Devin is super hot and whatever but…I don’t know man.”

My phone rang and I hurriedly picked up and hung up.  “Shit…Devin is downstairs.  Look…I promise I’ll come up with a decision soon.  Seriously.”
“You better.” she said, hugging me.  “Look, have a good time this weekend but really think about what you’re doing.  Either way someone is going to get hurt.  Decide who it’s going to be.”
“As long as you still love me – I’ll be okay.”  I said.
“You know I never couldn’t love your crazy Asian ass.” she laughed and then I was off.

Next

 

Leave a Reply

