Revenge of the Tip – Part I

As I’ve stated on multpile occasions – I’ve been the victim of and seen some pretty fucked up shit. However, this next one takes the fucking cake. As per usual, it was just another day at the Grand Marnier Cafe…

Staring at my Blackberry, willing Jesse to text me back, Stephen took my hand and said, “Girl you need a manicure.”
“I do not need a manicure.” I argued, putting my phone into my apron and rubbing the exhaustion from my eyes.
“Uh, yah you do. You know who else needs a manicure?” he smiled slyly.
“You?”
“ME!” he exclaimed, clapping his hands together. “Come on girl, let’s get manicures tomorrow! We’re both off. Come on, pweeeeeeeeease!”
“Ugh,” I groaned, “fiiiiiine.”
“Yay!”

“What are you so excited about?” Jessica asked, making her way over to us.
“Oh my God Jess don’t say it.” I begged. “Please, please.” I said as I shook my head, staring at the table of twenty making its way into the dining room. “I’m about to be phased – Tommy…”
“Lauren.” Tommy said, coming up on my right.
“Noooooooooooo.” I moaned as Stephen scampered off.
“Lauren I need you to take this table.” Tommy whispered.
“Come on man…” I said.
“Lauren please, you’re the only one who can handle this. Jess get them some menus.”

“Look Lauren,” Tommy said, leaning in close to me, “I need you on this. There is no one else who can do this right now.”
“And I can?” I laughed.
“Two Saturdays off…”
“Who are they? Why are you so hard up for this table? It’s fucking 2:30pm on a Monday.”
“They’re Anne’s friend’s cousin’s friends – I don’t fucking know!” he said, throwing his hands in the air.
“Ugh, fine.” I sighed. “But make it three Saturdays. You’re lucky it’s an auto grat…”

Tommy kissed me on the cheek, “I love you.” and walked over to greet the table.
“She better put out soon!” I called after him.

He turned around, smiled, gave me the finger and continued walking…god he was an awesome manager.

Next

Leave a Reply

