The Turnaround

“God damn it Lauren!”  Jason mumbled as he chased after me, clutching his eye.

Instead of turning around I did what I do best – I buried my pain and kept walking.  It’s all I’ve ever known and it’s all I was ever good at.

“Look, I get it, Lauren.” he continued, still following me.  “I know I fucked up.  I should have told you about Hailey and I’m sorry.”
“Save your sorries for your girlfriend, Jason.  She needs them more than I do.”
“Okay,” he said, speeding in front of me, stopping me in my tracks, “I’ve had enough of this shit.  Yes, I should have told you I was seeing someone.”
“Yes!  You should have!” I screamed, hurling him out of my way.
“Well then tell me, Lauren, when would have been the perfect time to bring that up?  Seriously, I want to know.  When you called asking me to dinner was I supposed to say, ‘Sure let me check with my girlfriend?’ or should I have answered the phone ‘Hey Lauren haven’t spoken to you in two years I just want to let you know I have a girlfriend now how can I help you?'”

“Don’t you dare put this on me, Jason.”  I said sternly.  “I’m not the one with an obligation to someone.  And maybe there was no perfect time…”
“That’s it, Lauren.  There was no perfect time without me sounding like a dick.”
“Congrat-u-fucking-lations Jason.  Instead of sounding like a dick you just decided to be a dick.  Good for you.”

“God damn it, Lauren stop!  Stop walking.”
“Why?  So you can tell me you’re sorry one more time?” I mumbled, trying to hold back the tears. 
Jason sighed deeply, running his fingers through his hair, “Look, Lauren.  I know I didn’t come after you then…but I’m coming after you now.  I’ve taken a surprisingly painful punch to the eye and chased you two blocks to tell you that I’m in.  I can’t lose you again.”
“How am I supposed to believe you?” I sobbed.
“Because,” he laughed, brushing my tears away, “like you said – this is the real thing.”

And, just like that…I turned around and stopped walking away.

Next

Leave a Reply

