The Stranger – Part VI

I was working at Barnes and Noble at the time of Brian’s disappearance.  I felt bad for Mrs. Kirken because when she reported him missing she also reported that a substantial amount of her savings had disappeared as well.  So now, Brian was looking at some theft charges and bill collectors were hounding her trying to get a hold of him since he had defaulted on some loans.

I felt especially bad because I was now able to see what I had done to my mother.  So, when I saw Brian in the Sci-Fi/Fantasy section of Barnes and Noble…well, shit went down.

***

“What the hell are you doing here?” I said pulling him into a corner.  “Do you have any idea how worried your mother is?  Where the hell have you been?”

Now, before we go any further, I need to explain something about myself.  I am the clumsiest person I know – completely uncoordinated, no social tact or grace…I’m a mess.  It took me about five years to learn how to ride a bike and even then I once crashed into a parked car and busted a dude’s headlight.  I often wave to strangers that I mitake for people I know and I have no filter whatsoever.  Back to the story…

Brian looked awful.  I couldn’t tell if the holes in his shoes were from wandering the streets or if it was some sort of fashion statement I wasn’t in on.  He was malodorous and obviously had not showered in the past seven days.  He had lost weight too and I felt my heart break a little…he was obviously in a bad spot.  I felt terrible until he said, “Do I know ya’, lassie?”…WITH THE WORST IRISH ACCENT I’VE EVER. FUCKING. HEARD.

Leave a Reply

