Coming Up For Air…

You are currently reading from the Trials and Tribulations of a Crazy Asian Series

Cole had seen the wave before I did and held my hand tight as it washed over us.  The waves of the Irish sea are not like those of the Jersey Shore or other such places.  This wave was strong, fierce…a force to be reckoned with.

I attempted to kick and swim for the surface but Cole’s grip tightened around my waist – bringing me closer.  As we spooned, suspended under the Irish sky and the ocean, I came to the frightening realization that I had no idea my eyes were open.  It was so dark that I thought my eyes had been closed the entire time.  Fear began to overtake me – as strong and as fierce as that wave and I began to panic.  My air supply had ran out, I was frantic and for the second time in my life – I really thought I was going to die.

And then I remembered Cole’s words, “Trust me to get you back to shore.”.  I felt Cole’s hand tighten against mine and pull me up.

Cole held me tight against his chest as I gasped for air, “You’re all right, you’re all right.” he soothed as we washed up on the shore.  Cole quickly gained his footing, hoisted me up and attempted to walk before I collapsed on the sand – still searching for oxygen.

“Lauren!  Lauren, you’re okay.” he said, gently slapping his hand against my face.
“That…that…” I gasped.
“Stupid, I know.” he sighed, never letting me go.
“That was awesome.” I laughed.

I saw him crack a smile and say, “Awesome, eh?”
“Yeah,” I said, inhaling deeply, “even better than sex.”
“Little lady,” he laughed, brushing my cheek with his hand, “I don’t think you’ve been having sex with the right man.”
“Is there such a thing?”  I asked, laughing.
“Maybe,” he smiled, “maybe…”

PreviousNext

Leave a Reply

