You the man, CJ

Yesterday, WordPress informed me that someone had made a comment on my post “Step 3: Farewell“.  Below is the comment in its entirety:

“As a customer I’ve always had trouble with knowing how to tip take-out. I always tip 20% for in-restaurant dining unless the service is exceptionally bad, but it doesn’t feel right to tip the person who only takes a couple of minutes to bring my food to the counter the same as someone who’s served the whole table for an hour. I never know what to do for take-out, so I’ll sometimes do around 5% but usually leave nothing. After hearing your perspective I know that I’ve been a dick, but I still don’t know how much is fair. What do you recommend?

I love the blog BTW! After reading a couple of recent posts I went back and started at the earliest ones and have been reading forward. Great stuff!”

CJ…there are so many things I want to say to you.  I actually sat down and made a list of all the things I want to say and tried to organize them in order of importance and found there were two tied for first place.  However, due to the way I was raised, I would like to start off by saying, from the bottom of my heart and the hearts of all those in the food service industry:  THANK YOU.

Seriously, thank you, man.  You have given all of us hope that there are still some decent people out there.  For real – after all the shit we take, sometimes it’s hard to see the good, or the potential for good, in many customers that sit at our tables.

My goal, this blog, was never to change the minds of the average diner.  In fact, I didn’t think it was possible.  I figure people are the way they are and there is nothing anyone can do to change it.  But you have proven me happily wrong and for that I am eternally grateful.

Secondly, YOU ARE NOT A DICK!  The mere fact that you sometimes leave 5% is awesome and more than what the average person can say for themselves.  That 5% makes you a god in my book and I’d take that over nothing any day.

Thirdly, I am never one to tell anyone how to tip because even if the service is terrible, I always leave a nice tip because I’ve been there.  There were days  where I gave shit service (reason or not) – so I get it.  And I don’t want you to misunderstand me thinking that I am saying you HAVE TO tip the take out person.  The truth is, sadly, you don’t have to tip anyone you don’t want to.  The other truth is that no one grows up wanting to work in a restaurant.  There are no first graders dreaming of bringing people ranch for their fries and getting stiffed on fifty dollar checks or writing the names on the boxes of all the lunches an office ordered only to not get squat.  Really, a thank you should be enough.  But sometimes, a five here or there really makes a difference.

And so, CJ, I want to end by thanking you again for your kind words and hope I’ve been able to answer some of your concerns.  Know that you are in my heart as the most baller fucking dude ever.  You’re the kind of person I love waiting on and the kind of person everyone wants to wait on.  Never change.

Always,

Lauren

2 thoughts on “You the man, CJ

    • Dude you are awesome and have given hope to so many servers, to-go people and bartenders alike. You have been the topic of many a discussion this past weekend and I can’t thank you enough for just being you. You rock, dude.

Leave a Reply

