Cheers

You are currently reading from the Trials and Tribulations of a Crazy Asian Series

“Sooooo,” Katie cooed, “how was Ireland?”
“It was gewd.” I smiled, sliding into our usual Chili’s booth.
“Can I get you ladies something to drink?” the waitress sighed.
“Two raspberry margaritas.”  Katie said, clapping her hands together.
“Frozen.” I said, anticipating the waitress’s follow-up question, “Salt rim – none of that sugar nonsense.”

“So,” Katie said, turning to me, “what was it like?”
“Green…and wet.” I laughed, opening my menu.  “I’m feeling spinach dip…if I got some would you have…”
“OKAY!” Katie sighed, putting her hand up, “Who is he?”
“Who’s who?” I asked, looking around for a familiar face.
“The guy…who’s the guy?”
“What guy?  I don’t see anyone?” I said, still looking around.

“Hey!” she screamed, snapping her fingers and commanding my attention.  “You know who I’m talking about.”
“Ugh,” I scoffed, slapping my menu shut.  “Fine…his name is Cole.”
“I knew it!  You slut…you fucking slutty as slut you!”
“Shut up!” I laughed, hitting her across the table.  “Jesus I can’t take you anywhere.”
“Jesus is everywhere, Lauren.”

We both laughed at that point and welcomed back our waitress with open arms and ready straws.  “Cheers!” I said, as we clinked glasses.

“So, what’s he like?” she asked excitedly.
“Engaged.” I said, rolling my eyes.  “To…like…this completely stuck up girl.”
“Bitch!”
“I know, right?”
“So…” Katie began after a moment’s silence, “how far did you get?”

I took a deep breath and thought back to that beautiful moment by the cottage where Cole and I said good-bye and sighed, “We kissed.”
“That’s it?!” she shrieked.
“He’s getting married dude!” I laughed.
“Yeah, I guess that’s true.”
“Ain’t no thang…plus, it’s not like I’ll ever see him again.”
“Yeah,” Katie sighed, sinking back into the booth, “was he hot?”
“Dude…he was Irish…of course he was fucking hot.”
“What was his last name?”
“Englander,” I said, “Cole Englander.”
“Damn…” she sighed, “that’s a cool fucking name.”
“Cheers to that, my friend.”

Previous * Next

Leave a Reply

