I Flipped the Bird – Part VIII

Like I said earlier, this was not the first time I attempted to storm out, vowing never to return…but this was the first time I was serious.  And that seriousness was felt by all bearing witness to my exit – including Larissa.

I was stopped by Anthony before I got past the first booth and he said, “Come on Lauren, just go behind the bar.  We’ll get you everything you need.”
“No, Anthony.  You know I’ve been feeling this way for a while.  I can’t take this shit anymore.  This is fucking ridiculous.”
“I’m going to miss you so much.” he sighed, wrapping his arms around me.
“I know, man, I’m going to miss you too.  But this is the way it has to go.”

Anthony and I had been in training together before the Blue Canary opened.  We started at the same level before he rose to greatness on his mountain of managerial powers and all the egotistical traits that went along with them.  We had been drifting apart since he put on his Blue Canary button down and forgot where he came from.  But, even in the shit storm that was unfolding, he returned to being my friend for the briefest of moments.

I let go and made for the door before I felt Larissa’s hand on my wrist.  “Lauren, where are you going?”
“I’m going home dude.” I laughed.  Now she got it.
“Lauren, this is silly.  Let’s go in the office and talk.  Tell me what you need.”
“I need vodka, Larissa.  I need Sam to do her job.  But right now, all I really need is to get the fuck out of here.”  I shook her off my wrist and turned before she grabbed hold of me for the final time.
“Come on, Lauren.  Don’t do this.”
“Larissa,” I said, raising my voice, “I am an AMERICAN citizen…I don’t negotiate with terrorists.”

…and I never looked back.

Leave a Reply

