The First Time Katie and I Hung Out

Our society puts a great deal of importance on firsts: first kiss, first time, etc.  But there is one important first that always seems to get neglected…and that is the first time you hang out with your best friend.

Now, before we get to the actual event – let me give you a little background on what was happening.

The year was 2007 – Katie had been working at Barnes and Noble only a few months before I came along.  I had just gotten a new hair cut and well…it was most certainly Asian.  I looked…like this:

 

Definitely not my best look – but not the worst either.  Suffice it to say, when I wasn’t a drunken mess, my bangs were perfectly curled to rest just above my eyelid – I looked pretty god damn Asian (which is why, I was later informed, Katie and my manager, Luis, called me “Miss Swan”).

Whenever I start a new job, I am always pretty quiet.  I like to keep to myself and observe others so I can figure out where I fit in.  Katie mistook my silence for me being a really nice and polite Asian chick.  This also explains why she was so baffled when I started spouting curses and ranting about how much I hate people when we were on cashwrap that fateful day.

Our relationship started out as most budding romances – a text here, a witty Facebook post there, until she popped the question I’d been waiting to hear for about two weeks, “So, um, do you want to come to my friend’s party?”
“Um…only hell yea!” I said excitedly before taking a deep breath of disappointment, “But I can’t…I don’t drive.”
“That’s okay!” she screamed with a tone I now know to hold a smile at the end, “I’ll pick you up.”

And the rest, as they say, is history…

Leave a Reply

