What’s Love Got to Do With It?

You are currently reading from the Trials and Tribulations of a Crazy Asian Series.

“Who called you?” I asked Mr. Cupelli as I attempted to massage the exhaustion from my eyelids.
“Who do you think?” he half-laughed, half-cried as he sifted through various forms, “Just give me a minute, okay?”

He rose from his chair, annoyed, and stormed out of the interrogation room and yelled, “Can someone please bring me a copy of the current statement?  THANK YOU!”

As he sat back down, he sized up the stack of paperwork and sighed, “Lauren, what a mess.  What have you told them?”
“Everything…and nothing.”  I laughed.  “I haven’t admitted to anything if that’s what you’re asking.”
“Jesus, Mary and Joseph.”
“You’re asking the wrong people, Suit.”

Mr. Cupelli began flipping through the pages, mumbling for me to give him some time and I simply sat quietly and let my mind wander.  I put the pieces together, after all, there weren’t many and wondered, “Why?”

Of course I knew who’d called Mr. Cupelli – it was the same person who had landed me here in the first place. After all, it’s not everyday your fairy godmother conjures a pumpkin carriage designed to take you to jail.  Although, I will admit, Aunt Margaret always had a strange way of showing her affections.

“Lauren!” Mr. Cupelli snapped, “You ain’t lookin to get on The Bachelor.  What the hell are you doing talking about all these guys?!  Who the hell is Rich?  What’s he got to do with this?”

“Everything, Mr. Cupelli.  Rich has everything to do with this.”

Previous * Next

Leave a Reply

