I Can Show You the World

You are currently reading from the Trials and Tribulations of a Crazy Asian Series.

“Oh come on, Lauren.” Rich called after me.  “This isn’t news.  You knew where I stood from the start.  Don’t suddenly acto so heartbroken – I told you I wasn’t looking for anything serious and if my memory serves me correctly I also recall you saying you were fine with that?”
“Fucking spare me, Rich.”  I scoffed, unlocking my car door, “Are you seriously going to act like this is all my fault?”
“Well, yeah…” he laughed.
“Oh it’s so funny isn’t it?” I wailed, throwing my hands in the air.

I could feel those familiar tears coming and knew I had to get out of there before the least appealing of my looks began to surface.

“It’s funny because you still haven’t answered my question.”
“And what question is that?” I asked, breathing deeply – trying to fan the tears back from whence they came.
“What do you want?” he asked.

It was at that moment that I realized he had chased me down the stairs, out the door, and was asking me what I wanted from our pseudo-relationship in the middle of the night.  He could have let me go – it would have been easier than all this.  But he wasn’t asleep in his room not caring about whether or not I came back – he was right here, arguing with me under a streetlight.

“What, um,” I mumbled, “What do you want?”
“Lauren, I don’t fucking know.”

Laughter is contagious.  And somehow, amidst this confusion, I found myself sitting against my tire, doubled over with silent laughter watching as Rich lay on his back – half on the sidewalk, half in the street.

“We’re a fucking mess.” I cackled.
“Yes,” he laughed, “yes we are.” he said, inching towards me and putting his hand over my hand.  “Look, Laur, I’m shit at relationships…”
“And I’m not?”
“You know what I mean.”
“Yeah,” I sighed, “I do.”

I inhaled deeply and continued, “Rich, I’m not asking you to get married and have kids – hell I’m not asking you to be my boyfriend.  I just have to know – do you want to see the world, or do you want to see the world…with me.”
“I don’t know,” he sighed, “but I know there’s no one else I’d rather be messed up with…than you.”

Previous * Next

Leave a Reply

