OJ

You are currently reading from the Trials and Tribulations of a Crazy Asian Series.

“Lauren, top o’ the morning!” Cole laughed, breaking away from our hug and sliding into the booth.
“Good morning to you too,” I smiled, taking my seat while still trying to keep an eye out for Rich.  “What are you doing here?”
“I was just in the neighborhood and thought, ‘Who do I know in Mineola that likes waffles?’ and you immediately came popped into my brain box.  Mm,” he continued, taking a sip of my orange juice, “you know, Mother England does a plethora of things right by OJ is not one of them.  New York OJ is so smart!…”
“Uh, listen, Cole,” I interrupted, “as excited and baffled as I am to see you – I’m kind of waiting for someone.”
“Oh,” he sighed, looking back towards the door, “I was hoping it would be just the two of us but if your mum is here I’ll scoot over..”
“No, no,” I laughed, “I’m waiting on a friend of mine.”
“Oh,” he said confusedly, “you should have said something!  I’d have scheduled lunch.”
“What?” I asked, also confused, “Said something when?”
“When we were on phone, of course!” he laughed.
“What?  When?”
“Just a moment ago?” he smiled.
“That was you?!?!” I gasped.
“Of course – why do you know someone else whose country code +44?”

As I went to make my comeback, I realized there was no one I knew with a +44 country code – and so, I took a deep breath, smiled and said, “No, haha – no one else.”

“Then whom were you expecting?” he asked, slyly, removing his scarf.
“No one of any consequence.” I smiled.  “So…what brings you across the pond?”

I looked towards the door and laughed at how stupid I had been.  There was no one else coming through that door for me, no one coming to finish what they had started.  There was only me, only Cole…and only the best god damn orange juice a dollar five could buy.

Previous * Next

Leave a Reply

