Re. Kanye West…and other things

I have not been the biggest Kanye West fan…in fact, I’ve never been a fan at all.  Truth be told, I always thought he was kind of a douche bag.  But last night, he did something great and, just to be clear, I’m not talking about his performance.

I didn’t watch the 12.12.12 concert not only because I was at work, but because I really didn’t care.  Survivor and American Horror Story are really the only things I can commit to right now and I consulted my DVR when I got home at 10pm before I even thought about checking the concert highlights.

It wasn’t until I got on Facebook this morning that I saw this:

KanyeWest-23

And Facebook posts like these amongst my friends:

April 1

Which quickly kickstarted the ever so famous comment war (forgive how broken up it is):

april 2

I really don’t think I’m wrong with what I said here and I think the original statement that “cross dressers” don’t have the right to “start a fight with someone that calls them a homo” is ridiculous and ignorant.  What I don’t understand why it’s unacceptable for men to wear women’s clothing when women wear man-tailored shirts, ties and other “masculine” clothing.

april 3

This has to be, without a doubt, one of the most ignorant things I have ever read in my entire 26 years on this planet.  Let’s take this apart piece by piece, sentence by sentence:

1.  I never kept up with Project Runway cause a lot of them never go far afterwards.  First of all, how do you not keep up with Project Runway?  That is just crazy.

2.  but I’m sorry men wearing long tanks & skirts is too much to be a manly style. And I’m guessing Fabio is gay, right? For him, its easier to look over. As prejudice as thatstatement is its the truth.  For a long time, I thought the reason there was so much animosity towards the gay community was due to the older generation.  I thought once the older generation died out and my generation slowly made its way into political office, “gay rights” would no longer be an issue just like divorce really isn’t an issue anymore.  But these four sentences have proven me horribly mistaken.

Let’s talk fashion for a second – fashion has been the one industry that really has no laws – it plays by its own rules.  I mean, the whole idea behind fashion is to push the envelope and see how far you can go.  Sure stores are divided into men’s and women’s sections but you always have the right to choose.  Designers have been putting women in men’s clothing and vice versa for years so I don’t get why it’s still an issue.

Secondly – because Fabio is gay it’s easier for him to look over men wearing long tanks and skirts?  Why does that make sense to April?  Why does Fabio being gay make it okay for him to do anything?  And why does Fabio being a designer automatically make April assume that he is gay?

Let’s talk about the word “gay” for a minute because I hate that fucking word more than I hate New Jersey.  Love is love.  And if a man finds the person he loves in another man, or a man who believes he is, in fact, a woman or a woman who wants to be a man then good for him because he has found the one thing everyone on this planet wants and deserves – love.

There shouldn’t be “gay rights” – just human rights.  We’re all human, aren’t we?  So why does the gender of the person in relation to your gender dictate what government benefits you can receive, power of attorney or hospital visits.  Why is it that we can put a man on the moon and find cures for diseases but we can’t seem to eliminate hatred and ignorance?

I hate to think that April is right and that statement is the truth – I hope we’re all better than that.

3.  Heteros such as Kanye & Weezy are more prone to criticism cause they give off this persona of “gangsters”, “thugs”, “bosses” or wuteva else they call themselves. Then as a “boss” you represent in a skirt? Uh no!  Ugh, I vomited in my mouth a bit when I read that April classified a group of people as “heteros”.  Apparently, April’s rebuttal isn’t just filled with ignorant prejudices about the gay community, but also about artists like Kanye and whoever Weezy is.

I am not a fan of rap, hip-hop or other similar styles of music.  I do enjoy some, but not a lot.  And while I know that a large portion of these artists recount their experiences with illegal activities and substances, I know it is not necessarily who they are now.  I would like to think that the majority of these artists take what they’ve learned on the streets to give hope to others who might be in their situation and are using their music to comment on the lives they used to lead and how it’s never too late to get on the right path.

And I’m sorry, but it takes a real man to walk onto that kind of a stage, in front of millions of people in the crowd and at home in a skirt.

4.  And its not attractive at all! There’s a lot of crazy fashion statements out there but not all deserve to be trends.  As I said before, equality is the trend – not the skirt.

april 4 april 5

april 7 april 8

Okay, now we have Taneal in the mix.  Her post was more difficult to read since not all of us share the same level of care towards the English language.  But from what I gather, Taneal thinks that once a man wears women’s clothing, his sexual preferences instantly change and he is attracted to males.  Fascinating – I didn’t know such a phenomenon existed.

Beware people, because I am about to get racist.  In almost every black woman’s closet I know, there is a pair of pink Timberland’s.  Now, although they are designed for women, are Timberland’s not a male oriented brand?  Does that make any woman who wears Timberland’s, army boots, fighter pilot jackets, suspenders, ties, etc. a lesbian?  If so, someone should probably tell my boyfriend.

april 9

I want to thank Mr. West for wearing a skirt last night – I don’t know if he was trying to make a fashion statement, start a new trend, to see how far he could go before we officially deem him legally insane or what. I hope hedid it to send a message that you aren’t what you wear – you’re just who you are.

I’d also like to thank Facebook.

Facebook is a strange entity – it creates bonds over movie trailers and check-ins at restaurants…but Facebook also starts wars – it destroys friendships, relationships – lives.  I can’t tell you how many people I know have gotten into fights over why their “significant other” won’t change their relationship status (myself included) or how many friendships were broken over posts regarding the 2012 election.  Facebook should be classified as a weapon of mass destruction – its victims are probably somewhere in the high hundred thousands.

So, thank you Facebook, for letting me see some of my friends’ true colors.  For, as you know, I can’t be friends with stupid people.

Sigh, so that’s where I leave things on this subject for now…oh wait!  No, I lied…

Let’s briefly talk about freedom of speech as defined by Article 11, of the Declaration of Independence:

“The free communication of ideas and opinions is one of the most precious of the rights of man. Every citizen may, accordingly, speak, write, and print with freedom, but shall be responsible for such abuses of this freedom as shall be defined by law.”

While everyone has the right to say what they want, when they want and how they want, having that freedom doesn’t give you the right to be an ignorant and bigoted dumb ass.  If anything, you should have that right taken away if you post something like Taneal’s closing argument:

18F43E18-5992-4F3C-8CDD-E4142F061D87I rest my case.

4 thoughts on “Re. Kanye West…and other things

  1. Oh god, what a cesspool of ignorance–conflating sexual orientation and gender identity and gender expression, ALL of which are COMPLETELY different things, is just the start of it. I’m very sorry that your FB friends are that terrible.

    I don’t agree with your comment about how sexual orientations don’t exist, since a significant portion of the population demonstrably prefers people of one gender to people of another gender, but I’m with you that ragging on men who wear feminine clothing is bullshit.

  2. Puck! Thank you so much for posting your comment – I was in such a blind rage that I was just writing anything that came to mind. I hope you know I would never go so far as to say sexual orientations don’t exist because there is a large population of people that prefer members of the same gender and are more attracted to people who share their gender. I’ll definitely be revising!

Leave a Reply

