Missin’ You

You are currently reading from the Trials and Tribulations of a Crazy Asian Series.

Once we had finished our meal, Cole and I began the age old check dance until he finally slapped my hand away and left a $50 bill for a $30 check.  We walked out of the diner and into the sun, yet I shivered.  October had begun warm but now things were taking a turn for winter.

“Brilliant…the weather here is absolutely brilliant.” Cole beamed as he dialed his cell phone.
“Yeah, it’s all right.” I said, watching the street, waiting for the perfect break in traffic that would allow me to cross.  “Listen, Cole this was fun and thank you so much for breakfast…”
“Ah,” he laughed, “think nothing of it.  Yes, Dan!  Just pull right round.”
“Well, I should be going.” I said, going in for the standard ‘we should do this again sometime’ hug when he put up his hand to stop me.
“Oh, surely that can wait.  Let me take you home.”

Cole then turned and waved to a black towncar that was slowly turning the the corner onto Willis Avenue.

“Um, yeah,” I sighed awkwardly, “it’s totally fine – I can walk it.”
“Nonsense.” he sighed, opening the car door.  “Hop on it.”
“Um,” I said, staring off into the distance trying to think if it would be worth it to try and make a run for it, “sure.  Why the hell not?”
“Good, good.  Dan, can you take the lady to…”
“Make a right five blocks up.” I interrupted.

Cole and I sat in silence as Dan came to a halt in front of my house.  “Well,” I said, making my way for the door, “this was great.”
“Indeed,” Cole said, wrapping his arms around me.

I quickly threw my left arm around him and planted a kiss on his cheek, “If you’re ever in New York again give me a call – preferably to make plans in advance.” I laughed.
“Right oh!” he smiled.

I walked out of the car and made my way towards the house but turned back when Cole rolled down the window and said, “Lauren!”
“Yeah?”  I asked.
“Those are some smart pajamas.  Whoever he is, he doesn’t know what he’s missing.”

And with that, he was nothing more than a set of tail lights rounding the corner and all I could think to myself was, “He might not know what he’s missing, but I do.”

Previous * Next

2 thoughts on “Missin’ You

Leave a Reply

