The Fine Line

You are currently reading from the Prompt #2 Series.

As I picked myself up off the cold Earth and watched the sun rise over the Schuylkill River, I knew that Devin felt no love for me.  This was not an act of revenge – of righting the wrong perpetrated by Steve’s invasion of privacy.  This wasn’t about Devin getting even with him for roughing up his girl…this was something else.  This was about self-preservation.

Devin knew why Steve and his crew were there, why they were looking for us and that they wouldn’t leave until he came through that door.  Devin also knew that there was no way he’d be able to explain my death should they have killed me and that friends and family would come looking for me with questions as soon as enough time had passed.  But Devin also knew something else – that I loved him more than life itself and there was nothing I wouldn’t do or sacrifice for him.

And so I walked toward him, knowing that although my hands weren’t red it didn’t change the fact that they were covered in blood.  “What now?” I asked, wiping a stray tear away.

“We’ve got to make our way up to Lancaster and tell my father that a friend stole the car and I said I’d take care of it.” he said, tossing the keys to Steve’s Mustang back to me.
“And what about…”
“What about what, Lauren?”  Devin sighed, slamming his trunk shut.
“Nothing,” I sighed, shaking my head, “nothing.”

Devin looked past me towards the sunrise and said, “We need to get a move on before morning joggers start coming through.”  He then walked past me and replaced the plates on Steve’s car with some from his Explorer.  Devin was a boy scout – he always came prepared.

I donned my trash bag and gloves as Devin finished up.  As he made his way back to his car he planted a kiss on my forehead and said, “You did fine, Lauren.  I…I’m sorry about…things but this is the way it has to be.”
“Why?” I cried.

He took a deep breath, and looked at me with an expression I’d never seen before.  An expression that told me he was about to share a part of himself that he never had before – an expression that let me know the words that were about to come out of his mouth weren’t a lie.  “It’s hard to walk a straight line when you’ve been crooked your whole life.”

Previous * Next

Leave a Reply

