New Year’s Shortcomings

The only thing I have ever personally been able to finish is a meal.  So, naturally, I’ve never been a big fan of New Year’s Resolutions.

When I was younger, I would make a list of all the things I planned to change the coming year:  study harder, spend more time with my family, lose some weight.  But as the months passed, and my pants got tighter, that list became something else entirely:  a list of things I failed at accomplishing.

I became bummed out and jaded about the New Year and all the promises people make – and eventually break – to themselves and those around them.

That is, until last year when I had my first, real New Year’s kiss with my boyfriend, Bryan.  Last year I promised myself I would get on the dean’s list and commit to my writing more – both of which were accomplished.

So, this year, I am going to dust off a classic:  I am going to lose some weight.

Now, according to my doctor, I am 50 lbs. overweight for my height.  I currently weigh 205 lbs at a height of 5′ 4″, which I conveniently mask with baggy t-shirts and sweatpants.  But I’m tired of hiding, and at 26, I’m not getting an younger.  So, I took Jennifer Hudson’s advice and decided to join Weight Watchers (details of my progress can be found here in the coming weeks).

In addition to shedding some pounds, another one of my goals is to submit to at least three literary journals and send out applications to grad school.  I have a good feeling about 2013.  So, let me raise a glass of Diet Coke to you all and wish you a happy, healthy, successful and optimistic new year!

4 thoughts on “New Year’s Shortcomings

Leave a Reply

