On the Road

You are currently reading from the Prompt #2 Series.

I put my hand over my eyes just as Devin shut the trunk shut.  “Hurry, Lauren,” pop the hood and set up the jumper cables…we’ve got to get this hoop-d on the road.”

Devin sprinted to his Explorer and backed up so we were hood to hood.  I could see sweat running down his face as he attempted to jolt the Mustang back to life.  You see, before we knew the contents of the trunk Devin had only himself to protect.  But now, he had two – and he needed me to care for the other.

Devin ordered me behind the wheel of Steve’s ‘Stang and I began to feel nervous as I saw the park become more and more populated.

I gave the car gas when Devin instructed and breathed a sigh of relief as I heard it roar to life.  To this day, I dread to think where I would have wound up had the car not revived itself.

“Lauren, do your best not to stop.”  he instructed as we prepared to leave.
“What do you mean don’t stop?” I panted, nervously.

At that moment, Devin’s open palm graced my left cheek and the taste of blood filled my mouth, “God damn it, Lauren, focus!  Don’t step on the break too hard, just gradually slow down and try to keep it running.  If we have to stop for any reason, put the car in neutral and wait for me.  Don’t speed, don’t sway.  We’ve got to make it to Delaware and we don’t have a lot of time.”
“Delaware?”
“Yeah,” Devin smiled.  It was the first time I had seen a genuine smile from Devin in a while.  It was at that point that I knew we were in this together.  “I love you, Lauren.”
“I love you too.”

Devin’s tail lights flashed once more and before I knew it we were on the road.  I just had no idea where that road was taking us…

Previous * Next

Leave a Reply

