It Just Doesn’t Stop

Politics has never been a passion of mine – I don’t have strong “political” views…I just have views.  Example – I support gay marriage because I believe that every person has the right to have their love recognized by the government that governs them and is entitled to certain rights that go along with marriage – does that make me a liberal?  No…it makes me a person who supports gay marriage.

I’ll come out and say one more thing – I don’t follow politics and sometimes I really don’t understand everything involved with politics.  This is why I keep my opinions to myself – I wouldn’t want to go off spouting some ill-informed idea without having full comprehension of the issue(s) I’m discussing.  I can’t say the same for everyone else.

Sigh, I’ve touched on this issue so many times (Presidential Election 2012 and Are you FUCKING serious?) but people just keep giving me more and more to go on.  And so, we’re going to do this again.

Everyone has that one friend – that one person who uses Facebook in order to get people to “wake up” or to inform you about “what’s really going on in the White House”.  This person is never wrong, has an answer for everything and believes with all their heart, mind and soul that the government is to blame for everything.

Now, I’m not going to go so far as to say that America hasn’t made its fair share of mistakes – but who the fuck hasn’t?  Seriously, I don’t see anyone hopping a fence to get into the Congo or stowing away on a boat to start a new life in Iran.  Last time I checked, most of us have hot water, food in the fridge and Netflix on all three of our TVs.  Life ain’t so bad.

You see, in America, you can write a Facebook post about how shitty your government is and get likes.  In Iran, you can get tortured to death in a prison for defending human rights online.  America’s looking pretty good, isn’t it?

The thing is, all these people who are so enlightened and so “in the know” have one thing in common:  they’re fucking stupid.

These people are the same, if not worse, versions of the people they claim they want to save and enlighten.  They believe these faceless, eloquent and “questioning” entities that provide them with more questions, excuses and fingers to point as fiercely as the American people believe in their government.

One of my friends posted this on Facebook today:

537447_443611829026522_399861620_n (1)

 

(Image courtesy of “This Page Will Blow Your Mind“)

 

What the fuck does this even mean?  Real presidents?  So Thomas Jefferson, George Washington, Theodore Roosevelt, Dwight D. Eisenhower…all those dudes didn’t exist?  They were all fake?  Everyone who got a second term was a fake President?

And seriously – hotdogs are fucking delicious so the douchebag who added that little byline can suck a dick.

I pray that someone from Kennedy’s estate sees this piece of shit and sues the pants off these fuckers because this is not something he would support.

Another thing people who post crap like this have in common is that they’re all talk.  When push comes to shove, these people are the ones who are hiding behind computers, memes and TVs.  They don’t write letters to Senators, they’re not going to community college with the hope of getting into a better school so they can pursue a career in politics…they’re not volunteering on a campaign of the candidate they believe they can make a difference.  All they’re doing is taking up space on my god damn newsfeed.

 

4 thoughts on “It Just Doesn’t Stop

  1. Usually I’m the first to disagree with you on these posts, but in this case I am totally with you. People like that need to put up or shut up. If they’re not also writing to their congresspeople or doing some real honest-to-goodness consciousness raising or education, just reposting memes is bullshit. And that particular meme is really fuckin’ useless.

  2. Glad to hear you invoke a few great presidents who were not murdered. (We could also note that McKinley and Garfield, who were killed in office, showed no flashes of greatness.) Apart from the factual fantasies you so accurately puncture, we could look at the deeper offense in the poster — its underlying hatred, which is all too rampant in American society today.

    • I think we could all learn to be a bit more grateful and less critical. The poster of that picture is just as ignorant as the people he claims to be “enlightening”.

Leave a Reply

