It’s a Date

You are currently reading from the Trials and Tribulations of a Crazy Asian Series.

“Hello?” he laughed.  I could see the smile forming on his face – almost as if he knew I was going to call.
“Hey there, Cole…it’s me, Lauren.”
“I know.  I have this sweet contraption called caller identification.  Marvelous invention!  You should look into obtaining it if you haven’t already.”
“How do you do that?” I laughed, rolling my eyes.
“Do what?”
“How do you make all the condescendingly sarcastic things you say sound so god damn charming?” I giggled.
“It’s the accent,” he sighed, “it distracts the ladies from my politely arrogant demeanor.”

We both laughed and I let that laugh disappear into the most awkward of silences until Cole broke and said, “So, Lauren, what can I do for you?”
“Well,” I mumbled, “I feel bad that I was so out of it the other day at breakfast and wanted…”
“Lauren, would you like to have dinner with me on Saturday?” Cole interrupted.

“Um, uh…” I mumbled, slightly taken aback, “I would, um, yeah that would be great.”
“Brilliant.  I’ll send a car for you at 7:30pm.”
“Oh no,” I protested, slightly impressed, “you don’t have to do that.  Just tell me where you want to meet and I’ll be there.  You’re staying in the city, right?”
“Lauren, the car will be there at 7:30pm sharp.”
“All right, all right.” I laughed.
“It’s a date then.” he said.
“A date?”
“I don’t know how things work in the Big Apple, Lauren.  But yes, I am taking you out on a date.”

Previous * Next

Leave a Reply

