Where to?

You are currently reading from the Trials and Tribulations of a Crazy Asian Series.

As Robert merged onto I-495 West, I abruptly made my way to the partition and asked, “Hey Rob, would you mind telling me where we’re headed?  While Cole has confirmed that you are, in fact, the driver, I’d hate to be lying in a ditch somewhere thinking, ‘Coulda, woulda, shoulda.’ You feel me?”

Rob laughed and asked me to call Cole from the phone located in the backseat of the Town Car.

“Hey.” Cole said, “Excited yet?”
“Yeah – I get that the whole mystery thing is your deal but, as I just told Bob here – I’d like to know where I’m headed so that once this ride takes a turn for a horror movie, I can act accordingly.”
“You are too much.” Cole laughed.  “But I see your point.  I figured we could have a few drinks before we hit the town.  Robert is being so kind as to drop you off at the hotel I’ve been put up in. It’s located on 5th Avenue. So, if you happen to find yourself in Brooklyn, you know Rob has turned for the dark side.”

I laughed at Cole’s sly Star Wars reference and then it hit me…”Wait, where on 5th is this hotel?” I asked.
“Central Park South.”
“The Plaza?!?!” I shrieked.
“Ah, you’ve heard of it – splendid!  Well, I must be off.  For some reason it takes me forever to tie a tie!”

I once again found myself alone on the end of the line and could only manage to utter the best two words that have ever been uttered in any movie, “Clever girl.”

Previous * Next

Leave a Reply

