I Do

You are currently reading from the Prompt #2 Series.

The Vera Wang ball gown I wore on my wedding day was a gift from Devin’s mother.  She was thrilled that Devin had found someone he truly loved and that she was finally going to have a daughter…in law.  She handled every last detail down to the personalized macaroons all of our guests went home with.

As the minister began to explain what it means to be married, I couldn’t help but shed a tear.  I looked out at all the people I had come to know – evenly spread out so as to mask the fact that only one person I loved was at that wedding.  I thought back to my New York driver’s license, locked safely away in Devin’s safe – a GPS that would lead him to eviscerate my family should I ever had gone missing.

My eyes locked with Ryan, attempting to choke back tears that could be mistaken for being elated for his best friend about to take an important step in his life.  But I knew the tears slowly making their escape weren’t just for his breaking heart…

I looked down at the tulle that had enveloped the bottom half of my body – knowing that my mother would have hated it.  My knees began to buckle as I thought about how she and I would never have our Say Yes to the Dress moment together – how the person who gave me away was not the man who took me to my first father-daughter dance.

I began to brush the tears away as I looked into Devin’s eyes and saw no remnants of the man I once loved.  And I wept knowing that there was no escape from this life…that I was here for better or for worse, in sickness and in health.  But then a thought occurred to me – something that made me smile.

“…for as long as you both shall live?” he asked.

I took a deep breath, smiled and said, “I do.”

And as Devin’s lips touched mine, and we kissed for the first time as husband and wife, I couldn’t help to think that Vera Wang’s ball gown would be beautiful to die in.

Previous * Next

Leave a Reply

