ty/yw

You are currently reading from the Prompt #2 Series.

“Oh god,” I moaned, rubbing my stomach as though I were housing a life inside, “I don’t think I’m going to make it.”
“Give my your hands.” Ryan laughed, extending his hands.

I took tight hold of Ryan’s soft paws and nodded.  “All right, on three.” he directed.  “One, two, three!”

And with that, he hoisted me forward.

Ryan and I bade Rose of the Rosy Red Bake Shop farewell and proceeded to walk to Ryan’s pick up.  “Holy shit,” I sighed, “if all the samples we had were the size of a quarter then how come I feel like I just ate a whole wedding cake to myself?”
Ryan laughed, shaking his head and said, “Probably because each of those little samples was probably a billion calories.”
“Ugh,” I sighed, “don’t fucking remind me.  Devin’s mom is going to kill me if I don’t fit in the dress.  Have you seen that monstrosity?”
“No, I think I’m actually the only person in the world who hasn’t seen it.” he smiled.
“Oh my god,” I laughed, closing the passenger side door of Ryan’s Dodge, “you have to come up then!  I can’t get over how poofy it is!”
“Okay, sounds good.  Do you think Devin’s mom is going to mind?”
“No one is home…” I said.
“You’re in that huge house all by yourself?  Where is everyone?”
“Yeah.  Devin is in Philly this week working on something with his father and his mom is…well, doing whatever it is that she does.”
“Doesn’t it get lonely?” Ryan asked, backing out of the space and heading towards Devin’s.
“Actually, it’s really nice.  At first I was a little creeped out all by myself but it’s really peaceful with no one around.  To tell you the truth, I could use a break from all this wedding stuff.  It’s always sign this, what do you think of these colors, are the purples in the invitations too purple?!”

Ryan and I laughed as we drew nearer to the empty huge house where I found myself alone most nights as he said, “Well, no matter how poofy this dress is, I’m sure you’re going to look beautiful.”
“Thanks, Ryan.”
“You’re welcome, Lauren.”

Previous * Next

Leave a Reply

