What is love?

You are currently reading from the Prompt #2 Series.

“Lauren,” Ryan asked me after we made love, two weeks later, “what if…”
“Don’t do that.” I said, turning to face him.
“Do what?”
“What if…don’t do it.”
“You don’t even know what I’m going to say.” he laughed.
“Doesn’t matter,” I sighed, rolling out of bed and pulling up my jeans, “because no matter what you’re going to say, there’s a reason it’s called ‘what if’ not ‘when’.”

Ryan took a deep breath, got out of bed and put his hands on my shoulders, “Lauren, just hear me out.”
“I don’t have to hear you out, Ryan.  I know what you’re going to say and I can’t leave him.”
“Why not?”
“Ryan,” I said, making my way through the hole of my favorite, pink shirt, “do you honestly think that there is any way Devin wouldn’t find me?  And, even more than that, do you think there is a way Devin wouldn’t find a way to make me sorry for the rest of my life?”
“Aren’t you already sorry?” he sighed, bowing his head and walking away.

“Ryan,” I said, my voice becoming stern, “I didn’t ask you to break up with her.  You did that on your own.  I don’t know what you’re fucking expecting here but don’t act like I’m the bad guy…”
“No, Lauren,” he laughed, “you’re marrying the bad guy.”

I ran over to Ryan and slapped him across the face, “Fuck you, Ryan!  Get out!” I screamed, showing him towards the door.
“What is this to you, Lauren?!  Devin doesn’t fuck you enough and you need some strange?”
“Get out!” I yelled, pushing him closer to the door.

“No,” he said, taking a firm stand in the doorway that rendered me powerless.  “Tell me what this is to you?  What is it, Lauren?  Am I just your distraction?”
“Stop it!”
“What is this your last fling before you tie the knot?”
“Stop it!” I begged, tears coming down my cheeks.
“Just tell me…”
“I LOVE YOU!” I yelled, “I fucking love you.”

Previous * Next

Leave a Reply

