Who’s There?

You are currently reading from the Trials and Tribulations of a Crazy Asian Series.

I stood in my front doorway completely dumbfounded and utterly speechless – the last time I had seen Jason was anything but pleasant.  After finally agreeing to give us a chance, he began a relationship with another girl and I found out in the worst way possible…through Facebook.  I drove an hour East to confront him, slap him across the face, hear him tell me he didn’t love me and walk away.  And now here he was…at my front door.

“I was in the neighborhood?” he shrugged, cracking a smile.
“Jason…” I sighed.
“All right, all right,” he said, moving from side to side, “the truth is I wanted to see you.”
“And you didn’t think it would be a good idea to call before you drove all the way out here?”
“I was going to but I knew you wouldn’t take my call.”

I couldn’t help but smile at this point – after all, he knew me well.  But I found myself getting angry as he stood there, thinking that my smile signified he had a chance.  You see, he knew the old me – the Lauren that got amnesia when it came to all the mistakes the men who had hurt her made upon seeing a nice smile and hearing all the right things.  The Lauren that forgave and forgot – the Lauren I used to be.

“Jason,” I sighed, stepping onto the pavement and closing the front door behind me, “does Jen know you’re here?”
“Jen…” he said, bowing his head, “Jen and I are over.”
“Oh,” I said, shaking my head and realizing the error of my ways, “I get it now.  Jen breaks up with you and I’m your back up plan.  You know what, Jason,” I began as I made my way closer to him, pushing his shoulders, “you are exactly the same.  You haven’t changed one bit!  You are such…”
“Lauren!” Jason screamed, “I ended things with Jen.”
“What?”
“I broke up with her four months ago.  She…she put on an episode of Arrested Development and I just realized…”
“Realized what?”
“That I love you.  Always have…always will.”

Previous * Next

Leave a Reply

