Making a Run For It

You are currently reading from the Prompt #2 Series.

“What?” he gasped.
“I said I love you.”  I repeated.
“Good,” he smiled, “because I fucking love you too.”

At that point there were only two months until the wedding.  And although I was sure Devin could tell there was something different about me, he never mentioned my new found happiness.  You know, part of me actually thinks he might have thought I was excited about getting married.  After all, before I had met Ryan, that was my dream for us.

But as I walked down that aisle towards the wrong man, I came to the sad realization that there were no more dreams.

***

As I prepared to make the incision on my left wrist (god forbid I should live I didn’t want to do permanent damage to my writing hand) before Ryan burst through the door, making me drop the wedding knife.

“Jesus Christ, Lauren, what the fuck are you doing?”
“Get out of here Ryan!”
“Lauren, please…let’s go.”
“Just get out!” I screamed, searching for the wedding knife through my tulle gown, “I can’t live this life anymore!  I can’t…”
“I know, I know,” he said, taking my face in his hands, “which is why we have to move now.  I have a car waiting outside – they’re going to take us to the airport and we’re getting out of here!”
“Where are we going to go?  He’ll find us…”
“Lauren, this is our once chance.  If we leave the country he isn’t going to come looking for us.  Devin’s reach has a limit…once we’re settled we can send word to your parents.  We can have a life, Lauren.  I know we can.”

And in that moment I knew that all I really wanted in this world was to take Ryan’s hand and never look back.

Previous * Next

Leave a Reply

