Chances

You are currently reading from the Trials and Tribulations of a Crazy Asian Series.

“You love me?” I repeated, as Jason approached me slowly.
“Yes,” he smiled, “of course I love you.  I’ve always loved you, Lauren…I just…”

As Jason tried to find the words to fit his feelings, I felt an overwhelming sense of confusing begin to take over my entire body.  For a long time, I’d always considered Jason to be “the one that got away”.  It seemed that time was never on our side and we had never really gotten a fair shake at being a couple.  Fate, the universe or whatever you want to call it, always seemed to get in the way.

And now here we were, nearly six years after having met each other for the first time outside of that Best Buy, still unfinished.

I’d waited a quarter of my life waiting for Jason to say those words to me…not only to say the words, but to mean them as well.  Here was our chance…right here, right now.  There was nothing standing in our way, except…

Jason had moved in so as to set up the “let’s get back together and have a romantic reunion” kiss but my hand prevented him from moving in.

“Jason…I can’t.”
“What?” he asked.
“I’m with someone right now and…”
“Lauren,” he said, taking my hand, “look I know this is crazy and I know I’ve fucked this up in the past and there is no way you can trust me.  But I’m asking you not just to trust me…but to trust us.  Because I know nothing has ever felt more right and I am not about to lose you again.  This guy that you’re with…I know he probably seems like the one but, Lauren, this is our chance.”

I looked at Jason and I knew, in my heart of hearts, that he was right – this was our chance to right all the wrong hands chance and fate had dealt us.  And who was I to throw away that chance…

Previous * Next

Leave a Reply

