A Perfect Fit

You are currently reading from the Trials and Tribulations of a Crazy Asian Series.

I planted a kiss on Cole’s lips and thanked Robert for the ride.  “I assume you’ll take it from here, sir.” he smiled, nodding to Cole.
“Indeed!” Cole said, placing something into Robert’s hand.  “I’ll see you in the morning.”

Cole and Robert said farewell, and I looked up and saw we were on the corner of Park Avenue and 86th Street – Cole taking my hand and walking me towards the green awning.

“Is this what I think it is?” I asked, excitedly, as the doorman drew open the glass doors, nodding to Cole.
“That all depends on what you think this is.” Cole winked.

As we rode the elevator to the eleventh floor, I could barely contain my excitement – Cole had finally moved here.  He had been working closely with the universities in New York for many years and had been offered positions numerous times.  Now, he finally had a reason to entertain the thought of making a life change.

This was it, I thought.  We were finally going to have a chance to have a real relationship – no stolen blocks of time between flights or rushed dinners before saying farewell.  We would finally be in the same place at the same time…we’d finally be together.  And what’s more – I was ready.

The elevator doors separated and we began down the rather short hallway to apartment 10A.  Cole fished his keys from his pocket and slid the only silver one he had into the lock and turned it counter clockwise.

“A perfect fit.” I sighed, as he opened the door.
“I sure hope so, Lauren.” he said, placing his keys back into his pocket.

I stepped into the dark apartment that was suddenly illuminated by the flick of a switch as Cole threw his arms around my waist and whispered, “Ta da!”

Previous * Next

Leave a Reply

