Paris, je t’aime

You are currently reading from the Prompt #2 Series.

I don’t know how much time passed before we spoke – part of me feels as though it were hours, but the part of me that knows Devin knows he would not have let us go on that long.

“Well,” Ryan moaned, the pool of blood around him growing wider, “get on with it then.”

I summoned what little strength I had, sat upright in the bed and fell onto the floor, screaming as the stitches ripped my skin apart to make room for new wounds. I dragged my body across the floor and curled up next to Ryan, kissing his dry, cracked lips.

“You listen to me, Ryan,” I said, “we are going to get out of here. We’re going to go to the customer service desk at Delta and pay the rescheduling fee. We’re going to get on that plane – I’ll even let you have the window seat – we’re going to go to Paris. We’re going to get a nice local to take a picture of us at the Eiffel Tower – the one we’ll show to our future daughter.”
“That sounds nice,” Ryan sighed, smiling.
“Yeah?” I whispered, letting a tear loose.
“Lauren,” Ryan said, tears beginning to fill his eyes, “the thing of it is, I can’t go with you.”
“What?”
“Come on, Laur…we’ve been on borrowed time for a while now.”

I crawled back to the bed, snatched the covers and threw them over Ryan. “There,” I said, tucking him in, “there.”
“Lauren, I love you.”
“I love you too.” I said, taking his hand.
“Then you have to do this – if you love me, Lauren, you have to do this.”
“I can’t. Please don’t ask me, Ryan.”
“You can, and you will. You’re going to make it through this…”
“God damn it, Ryan!” I screamed, “Don’t you see?! There is no way out of this!”
“There is,” he sighed, nodding towards where Delilah had fallen, “and you know the way.”

Previous * Next

Leave a Reply

