Home Sweet Home

You are currently reading from the Trials and Tribulations of a Crazy Asian Series.

As my eyes adjusted to the light, the first thing I noticed was this: the place was a complete and total dump.  The writers of The Walking Dead could not have designed a worse living space.

Directly in front of me was a long, hardwood floored hallway – incomplete with missing floorboards.  The kitchen, or what was left of it had no cupboards whatsoever and the only thing that occupied the living room was a recliner that had most certainly seen better days.  All in all,

“Cole…this place is a shit hole!” I gasped.
“I know,” he sighed triumphantly, “but that’s now!  Just think of what we can do with it!”

Cole took hold of my hand and carefully led me down the hallway, opening the first door on the right, “I thought we could make this the office – I’d set up a computer and desk in the corner and buy a bookcase for…oh!” he said, dragging me to the door at the end of the hall, “this is the master’s suite.  I thought the bed could go right here so when we wake we can see the…”
“Wait…we?” I asked.
“Yes,” he said, pulling me in close to him, “we.  I know this is a lot of work and it’s going to take time, but it’s work and time I couldn’t imagine spending with anyone else but you.”
“Cole…”
“Look, I know this is a lot to process…and I’m not asking that you move in tomorrow.  But the fact of the matter is that this is an investment – in us.  Lauren, you’ve given me so much.  Until now, dinner parties and having the same conversation with Catherine’s boring boss was all my life was to be.  But you make me laugh and you make me want so much more.  You introduced me to deep fried Oreos for Christ’s sake!  So, what I’m asking is, will you fix up this shit hole with me…and call it home?”
“Yes,” I cried, wiping the tears away from my eyes, “yes I will!”

Previous * Next

Leave a Reply

