Wrong Place, Wrong Time

You are currently reading from the Trials and Tribulations of a Crazy Asian Series.

I tipped the cabbie $15, made my way out of the cab, bade the doorman good afternoon and hit the “10” once I found myself inside the elevator.  The truth was I hated that elevator ride – I was always worried that once the doors open, I would blink my eyes, wake up in my bed and have emotionally distant messages for Jesse on my phone – just waiting to be deciphered.

I was in a constant state of wondering whether or not I was dreaming – which is a terrible feeling to have when you’re happy.

I turned the shiny, silver key Cole had given me into apartment 10A and opened the door to a most unpleasant surprise.

“Hello, Lauren.” she said, cooly.
“Geraldine,” I gasped, placing my bag on the floor and placing my keys into my pocket, “hi…how are you?”
“I’m well, thank you.” she said, slowly approaching me.
“Can I make you some tea?”
“No, thank you.”
“Um, I’m sorry,” I laughed nervously, “What are you doing here?  I thought Cole was flying in tomorrow?”

Geraldine’s expression turned hostile in a matter of seconds.  Up until this point, her demeanor had been stern but the way her eyes narrowed and her fists tightened, I was half afraid she might get violent.  And then, seeing my expression, she caught herself and did something even more frightening…she smiled.

“My dear,” she began, still smiling, “this is my flat.  So, the real question is, what are you doing here?”

Previous * Next

Leave a Reply

