#1 – The Haunted Mansion, Part V: The Split

Nick sat up abruptly as George, Erin and I made our way to the door and peered out into the hallway.  “It’s nothin’,” Nick scoffed, with a tone that suggested he was trying to convince himself as well, “you guys are hearing things.”

But, as sure as you and I were born, I heard the sound of footsteps approaching.  “Holy fucking shit someone is here.”  We made our way into the hallway, prepared to be caught but saw no one there.  And yet, the sound of creaking wood got steadily closer and closer until…

I can still hear it, even now.  And if you were to ask George, Erin, and Nick they would tell you the same thing – a chill came up alongside each of our right ears and whispered, “Have you seen my baby?”

Each one of us let out a scream of epic proportions.  “HOLY SHIT! HOLY SHIT! HOLY SHIT!” Erin screamed, tears flooding her eyes and down her cheeks.
“AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAHHHHHHHH!” George cried.
“Oh my fucking god it’s real!”

But Nick was already halfway down the hall, screaming with fear.  Erin ran after him, George and I following suit so as not to lose her.  Unfortunately we were too late, and George and I found ourselves in the middle of an empty hallway, hearing nothing but echoes of Nick and Erin’s screams as they attempted to survive our botched break in.

“We have to find them!” George panted.
“Okay, okay,” I sighed, trying to get a grip, “I think I it’s coming from there.”

George and I raced through hallways, up and down stairs, attempting to catch up with Nick and Erin’s screams.  We eventually caught up with them in the main living room of the mansion, flashlights out, crying and screaming about finding me and George.

“Hey!” I called to them, as Nick shone his flashlight directly into my face, “we’re here!”
“Holy shit!” Erin screamed, pointing to us, “It’s here!  It’s MARY!”

George and I turned in an attempt to see what Erin was pointing at, only to trip over each other and fall down the stairs, directly into Nick and Erin.

“Oh my god,” I moaned, trying to untangle myself, “let’s get the fuck out of here!”

The main living room was on the first floor, just after the main entrance.  We were so god damn petrified that we didn’t think twice about pushing through the main door.  As soon as we made contact with the outside, alarms and flashing lights went off.

We didn’t need to be told twice – we booked it and began high tailing it for the woods surrounding Cabrini College.

Previous * Next

 

Leave a Reply

