#2 – The Mattress, Part III

I waited out the standard two weeks to apply for reassignment and it turned out there was a girl on the first floor who was willing to swap rooms.  My friends helped me move to the first floor – room 102, to be exact.  I opened the door and stumbled backward as my eyes attempted to adjust for I only saw colors.

Pink and purple shag carpet reflected off the cinderblock walls so for a good five minutes I thought I had entered Barbie’s pussy.  As my eyes began to focus, I saw the pink was actually various Hello Kitty products…Hello Kitty comforter, Hello Kitty TV (which I later learned had Hello Kitty’s face pop up in the right hand corner whenever you changed the channel), Hello Kitty computer…it was everywhere.  The purple, thankfully, did not have a sick Asian cartoon character obsession attached to it, but a Disney one instead.  Needless to say, I found Nemo.  You’re only allowed to switch rooms once…I was screwed.

I later found out the two girls (who were both white – which makes this even more weird) were friends prior to coming to Cabrini.  They used to talk about my online to each other while I was still in the room.  Once, Hello Kitty yelled at me for drinking a juice box after eating all my yogurt…you have to love higher education.

***

As you can imagine, Erin and I spent a lot of time together after that.  Most nights I would crash in her room as opposed to sleeping in the same room as Tweedle Dee and Tweedle Dum.  Then came the blizzard of January 2005…and everything changed.

Leave a Reply

