Doctor’s Orders

You are currently reading from the Trials and Tribulations of a Crazy Asian series.

“Blast!” Cole scoffed, having thrust the entirety of his weight against the dead bolted door.  “Lauren!” he called, his gentle knock sending mild vibrations down my back.

i leaned forward, brushed myself off and rose to unlock the door and open it wide.

Cole was wearing his usual smile as he kissed my forehead and made his way inside.  “I picked up Shake Shaaaaaack.” he sang, placing the greasy brown paper bag on the counter, “Where have you hidden the plates, little lady?”

“I haven’t hidden them anywhere.” I sighed, closing the door behind him.

As I walked towards the kitchen, I suddenly felt winded – my chest ached, my eyelids weary.  I turned the corner as Cole searched the cupboards and leaned against the refrigerator and closed my eyes.

***

Geraldine had left the apartment at 5:30pm.  I awoke in bed, an ice pack atop my head, at 8:13pm.  I straightened myself, sat up, removed the pack and felt around to see what was the matter.

“Son of a bitch!” I yelled, wincing from the pain.
“There you are, little lady!” Cole called from a distance, “I thought I lost you for a moment.” he said, his voice getting closer.
“Then why didn’t you take me to the hospital?” I called back, still feeling around my noggin.

I could see Cole’s figure fill the doorway as he flipped the light on, sending me into vampire at sunrise mode.

“Because, yank,” he said, taking a seat on the bed to see to my wound, “we Brits don’t go to the hospital for everything.”
“I could have a brain tumor.” I teased.
“You could,” he nodded, “but you don’t.”

I laughed and asked, “Oh?  So you’re a doctor now?”
“You’ll find that I am a man of many talents.  You need to rest, little lady.” he instructed, planting the softest of kisses on my lips before making his way back towards the door.

“Cole,” I called after him.
“Yes, love?”
“Your mother came to visit me today.”

Previous * Next

Leave a Reply

