Secrets, Secrets are no fun…

You are currently reading from the Trials and Tribulations of a Crazy Asian Series.

Cole took a deep breath – a breath I’d taken many times before and will live to take many times after.  Secrets often beget such breaths.  I think the reason people inhale and exhale deeply before they’re about to say something of great importance is because they’re wishing – wishing that saying what they’re about to say will be as effortless, and as quick, as taking a breath…but it never is.

I rose from our loveseat, and slid onto his lap, taking his hand in mine while kissing him sweetly on the forehead, “Cole,” I said, “I…I have to know.”

“All right,” he said, “all right.”

He motioned for me to remove myself from where I had nested and walked down the long hallway, returning with the Grey Goose.  He retrieved two glasses from the cupboards, filled with ice, and waited for me to come hither.

“Here’s to confession.” he said, clinking his glass and mine.
“Here’s to forgiveness.” I replied.
“I’ll drink to that.” he laughed half-heartedly.

“So, he began, making his way back into the living room, “you know I was…with someone before you.”
“And I before you.” I said, following suit.
“Well,” he sighed, “it was a bit more than that.  You see, we were…engaged.  We met…”

“Hold on.” I commanded, raising my hand to stop him.  I stared deep into my glass, knocked it back and said, “If we’re going to do this…I’m going to need another drink.”

Previous * Next

Leave a Reply

