Pancake Breakfast

You are currently reading from the Trials and Tribulations of a Crazy Asian Series.

I awoke the next morning to the smell of my mother’s famous chocolate chip pancakes, feeling well rested and ready to tackle the day.  As I walked to the bathroom and attempted to untangle the monstrosity that is my morning hair, I admitted to myself the one truth that all daughters eventually come to understand at some point in their lives, “Damn, she was right.”

I did feel better because I knew what I had to do.

“Would you mind taking me to the train station?” I asked, shoveling more pancakes into my mouth.
“Would you mind not completely disregarding everything I taught you as a child.  For goodness sake Lauren keep your mouth shut when you eat!” my mother laughed, pouring herself a cup of tea.
“Sorry.” I laughed, my mouth still full.
“I can take you before I head to the gym.  I thought he usually sends his man servant for you?”
“He’s not a man servant mom.  He’s just his driver.”
“Is he a man?” my mother asked, leaning back in her chair and crossing her arms.”
“Yes,” I sighed, knowing I had already lost this battle.
“And does he not serve?”
“Ugh…mom.”

As is my custom, I cleaned the dishes and went upstairs to take a shower and find something suitable to wear.  I checked the train times and remained silent during the five minute drive to the train station.

“So,” my mother said, putting the car into park, “have you decided what you’re going to do?”
“Yeah,” I sighed, taking a deep breath, “I’ve been with all the wrong guys…I think it’s time I was with the right one.”
“So you decided to be an adult.  Good.  Now get our of my car before I’m late.”
“Bye mom.” I said, kissing her on the cheek.

I walked towards the ticket booth before turning around and hearing my mom say, “Love you too, Lauren!” before speeding off to the gym.  I told the woman behind the class that I needed a one-way to Penn Station.
“You sure you don’t need round trip?” she asked, giving me my change.
“No,” I said, “I’m going home.”

Previous * Next

Leave a Reply

