Seriously, MeetMe.com, get your shit together

I started this blog in 2012 with one, simple mission – to tell my story.  Originally, I wanted the blog to be called “In Medias Res” – short, simple, and to the point.

As some of you may or may not know, “in medias res” is Latin for “into the middle of things”.  And, as writers, I think we can all relate to being in the middle of something – whether it’s the novel you’ve been working on for the past ten years or the article you’ve got to get in at 11pm…it seems that writers are damned (or blessed?) to constantly be in the middle of something.

The reason I added the “Meet Me” in front of my site’s title is because there were already so many sites using “in medias res”.  Little did I know the shit storm that was about to befall me.

About a week or two into blogging, I noticed I was getting a lot of traffic from search terms all seeming to ask the same question:  How do I change my relationship status on MeetMe.com?  It got so bad that I actually wrote this post:  Search Terms – Part III:  How to Change Your Relationship Status on MeetMe.com.

But still, almost two years later, it’s kind of sad to admit that the main bulk of my search term traffic comes from this one question.  So, MeetMe, I ask you – PLEASE GET YOUR FUCKING SHIT TOGETHER.  Seriously, at first I thought these people were stupid and couldn’t figure out how to use the internet and create a basic profile.  But if I, someone practically married to technology, can’t figure it out then you have a serious problem.  Honestly, it shouldn’t be this hard to change a fucking relationship status.  After all, that’s the only reason people join your site – that’s the only reason people really want to meet other people.  They want to see who they can and cannot bang!  There has got to be an easier way…for real.

So, get it together because two years later, I still have no idea how to change a relationship status on MeetMe.

Also, I guess I should thank you for sending so much traffic my way.  Especially since the new year started, people have been entering those search terms like crazy (which I find kind of humorous) but mostly get it together.  Please and thank you.

2 thoughts on “Seriously, MeetMe.com, get your shit together

Leave a Reply

