I wish I could tell you that I was stronger – that I wasn’t the type of girl whose defenses were disabled by three simple words.  I wish I could tell you I didn’t need him…but the fact of the matter was that I didn’t have anybody else…and neither did he.

“Why?” was all I could muster after pushing Will against the wall.
“Lauren, you don’t understand…” he sighed, running his hands up and down his face.
“You know what,” I laughed, making my way towards to carry-on in my closet, “you’re right.  I don’t understand.  I don’t fucking understand how you could fuck that slut IN OUR BED!”
“Oh, fuck you, Lauren…” he moaned, tiredly.”

His apathetic tone summoned me from the depths of our closet and I felt that rage burst from my heart, charge through my veins and into my hand.  I struck Will with such force that even the wall was painted red with his insides.

“FUCK ME?!  FUCK ME?!”

I couldn’t stop myself – one hit wasn’t enough.  The pain had taken custody of my body and there was nothing I could do but wait for it to be over…until I felt arms around my waist, pulling me backward.

“Lauren, Lauren!” a voice called.
“Don’t hurt her!” Will called, rising up from the floor, coming towards me.
“What happened?” the voice asked.  “Lauren, please!”

The voice had dragged me down the hallway and into our bathroom.  The pain still had hold of me and the voice forced me into the shower, and turned the knob.

The cold water struck me down to the ground and I felt the hurt fade from my body, down the drain.  I looked upward to see who had brought me back and began to weep, “Oh, Luke…

Previous*Next

Leave a Reply

