Lauren J Sharkey Introduction (Stony Brook Southampton ’16)

The MFA Years

Image:  Noukka Signe

I’ve never liked the word “writer.” I guess that’s why I always give people my job title when they ask what I do. Doing this allows me to avoid those stereotypical questions—so what do you write about? But what do you really do? Isn’t it a bad time to go into print? That’s not the reason I avoid the word though. The real reason is because calling myself a writer somehow feels like a huge lie.

My parents, like many parents, wanted me to go to college. They wanted me to have job security, meet a nice man, and select just the right shade of Egg Shell for my gender-neutral nursery. They did not want a child in “the arts.”  I suppose it’s not uncommon. After all, creatives aren’t really known for their job stability.

So, I went to college. I got a job, met a…

View original post 2,165 more words

One thought on “Lauren J Sharkey Introduction (Stony Brook Southampton ’16)

  1. Congratulations Lauren. You are a great writer. You are very brave to be working full time while going to school full time too. I am sure you will do very well.

    Date: Wed, 15 Jul 2015 02:10:04 +0000 To: stuartme@live.com

Leave a Reply

